Moon and Planets

A thin crescent moon appears close to the red planet Mars tomorrow morning. Look east more than an hour before sunrise. The two celestial objects are in the zodiacal constellation Taurus. Mars is just to the west of the Moon and looks a dull red. Beneath the Moon and a short distance away you’ll find the bright planet Venus. The Moon and Venus will be closer together on Sunday morning.

Moon and Saturn

Tonight’s thin crescent moon appears low in the southwestern sky near the ringed planet Saturn. The two are in the zodiacal constellation Leo.

Gibbous Moon

Tonight’s gibbous moon appears low in the southern sky in the zodiacal constellation Sagittarius. The moon’s intense brightness will dominate the starry night sky this weekend. The Sailor’s Moon, is on Wednesday.

Perseid Meteor Shower

The Perseid meteor shower, a favorite astronomical event of the summer, will take place on the evenings of August 11 through 13. Pick your night. Unfortunately, a gibbous moon will dominate the early morning sky. Whenever the moon shows up, meteors become less visible.

Moon and Planets

The crescent moon appears near Mars and Venus in the mornings ahead. The moon first appears above Mars tomorrow morning, early. The time to look is well before 5 a.m. The moon and Mars are in Taurus.

In Vineyard Skies

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., Sept. 25 6:31 6:34

Sat., Sept. 26 6:32 6:32

Sun., Sept. 27 6:33 6:30

Mon., Sept. 28 6:34 6:29

Tues., Sept. 29 6:35 6:27

Wed., Sept. 30 6:36 6:25

Thurs., Oct. 1 6:37 6:24

Fri., Oct. 2 6:39 6:22

Jupiter and Moon

In Vineyard Skies

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., Sept. 18 6:24 6:46

Sat., Sept. 19 6:25 6:44

Sun., Sept. 20 6:26 6:43

Mon., Sept. 21 6:27 6:41

Tues., Sept. 22 6:28 6:39

Wed., Sept. 23 6:29 6:37

Thurs., Sept. 24 6:30 6:36

Fri., Sept. 25 6:31 6:34

Autumn

In Vineyard Skies

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., Sept. 4 6:10 7:10

Sat., Sept. 5 6:11 7:08

Sun., Sept. 6 6:12 7:07

Mon., Sept. 7 6:13 7:05

Tues., Sept. 8 6:14 7:03

Wed., Sept. 9 6:15 7:02

Thurs., Sept. 10 6:16 7:00

In Vineyard Skies

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., August 28 6:02 7:22

Sat., August 29 6:03 7:20

Sun., August 30 6:05 7:18

Mon., August 31 6:06 7:17

Tues., Sept. 1 6:07 7:15

Wed., Sept. 2 6:08 7:13

Thurs., Sept. 3 6:09 7:12

In Vineyard Skies

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., August 21 5:55 7:33

Sat., August 22 5:56 7:31

Sun., August 23 5:57 7:29

Mon., August 24 5:58 7:28

Tues., August 25 5:59 7:26

Wed., August 26 6:00 7:25

Thurs., August 27 6:01 7:23

Fri., August 28 6:02 7:22

Crescent Moon

Pages