In Vineyard Skies

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., Sept. 18 6:24 6:46

Sat., Sept. 19 6:25 6:44

Sun., Sept. 20 6:26 6:43

Mon., Sept. 21 6:27 6:41

Tues., Sept. 22 6:28 6:39

Wed., Sept. 23 6:29 6:37

Thurs., Sept. 24 6:30 6:36

Fri., Sept. 25 6:31 6:34

Autumn

In Vineyard Skies

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., Sept. 4 6:10 7:10

Sat., Sept. 5 6:11 7:08

Sun., Sept. 6 6:12 7:07

Mon., Sept. 7 6:13 7:05

Tues., Sept. 8 6:14 7:03

Wed., Sept. 9 6:15 7:02

Thurs., Sept. 10 6:16 7:00

In Vineyard Skies

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., August 28 6:02 7:22

Sat., August 29 6:03 7:20

Sun., August 30 6:05 7:18

Mon., August 31 6:06 7:17

Tues., Sept. 1 6:07 7:15

Wed., Sept. 2 6:08 7:13

Thurs., Sept. 3 6:09 7:12

In Vineyard Skies

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., August 21 5:55 7:33

Sat., August 22 5:56 7:31

Sun., August 23 5:57 7:29

Mon., August 24 5:58 7:28

Tues., August 25 5:59 7:26

Wed., August 26 6:00 7:25

Thurs., August 27 6:01 7:23

Fri., August 28 6:02 7:22

Crescent Moon

Temperatures

Temperature: Precip.

Day Max. Min. Inches.

Fº Fº

Feb. 20 47 23 .00

Feb. 21 32 27 .00

Feb. 22 40 27 .00

Feb. 23 42 28 .23

Feb. 24 37 20 .00

Feb. 25 36 23 .00

Feb. 26 40 24 .00

Water temperature in Edgartown harbor: 41º F.

New Moon Tides

The tides this week and through the weekend will be abnormally high and low, due to the nearing new moon phase. The moon was in perigee on Wednesday and is in the new moon phase today.

Moon and Planets

Tonight’s thin crescent moon appears low in the southwestern sky. Look to the right of the moon and you’ll see the brilliant planet Venus, accompanied by two fainter planets, Mars and Saturn.

Moon

Tonight’s gibbous moon appears low in the zodiac, in the constellation Sagittarius. The moon spends the night in the South. For those who visit South Beach at night, the moon marks a sparkling trail from the viewer to just under the moon. The size of the sparkles will be guided by how turbulent the sea is under the moon.

Venus

The brightest planet in the western sky is Venus, and it can easily be seen an hour after sunset. In the coming week, our nearest planet appears close to one of the brightest stars of the summer, Spica. The two are in the zodiacal constellation Virgo.

Moonless Weekend

There is a peek of autumn this week, if you go outside after 10 p.m. Without the moon showing its brilliant personality, the stars will be bright and vivid.

Pages