Temperature

Temperature: Precip.

Day Max. Min. Inches.

Fº Fº

April 13 58 38 .00

April 14 61 44 .00

April 15 68 49 .06

April 16 66 52 .00

April 17 68 51 .00

April 18 81 52 .00

April 19 64 46 .00

Water temperature in Edgartown harbor: 56º F.

Read More

Saturn

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., April 13 6:05 7:19

Sat., April 14 6:03 7:20

Sun., April 15 6:02 7:21

Mon., April 16 6:00 7:22

Tues., April 17 5:59 7:24

Wed., April 18 5:57 7:25

Thurs., April 19 5:56 7:26

Fri., April 20 5:54 7:27

Saturn

The ringed-planet Saturn is in opposition on Sunday, closer to the Earth than at any other time in the past year. You can find Saturn rising in the eastern sky, soon after sunset. Saturn is in the zodiacal constellation Virgo, near the bright star Spica.

Read More

Full Moon

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., April 6 6:16 7:12

Sat., April 7 6:15 7:13

Sun., April 8 6:13 7:14

Mon., April 9 6:11 7:15

Tues., April 10 6:10 7:16

Wed., April 11 6:08 7:17

Thurs., April 12 6:07 7:18

Fri., April 13 6:05 7:19

Full Moon

Tonight’s full moon appears near the bright star Spica in the zodiacal constellation Virgo. The ringed-planet Saturn is nearby. The three celestial objects form a line with Spica in-between.

Read More

Planets

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., March 30 6:28 7:04

Sat., March 31 6:26 7:05

Sun., April 1 6:25 7:06

Mon., April 2 6:23 7:07

Tues., April 3 6:21 7:08

Wed., April 4 6:20 7:09

Thurs., April 5 6:18 7:10

Fri., April 6 6:16 7:12

Planets

The two brightest planets in our western sky, Venus and Jupiter are parting company. Venus is high in the western sky, while Jupiter is well below. Two weeks ago, the two planets were close neighbors.

Read More

Moon and Planets

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., March 23 6:40 6:56

Sat., March 24 6:38 6:57

Sun., March 25 6:37 6:58

Mon., March 26 6:35 7:00

Tues., March 27 6:33 7:01

Wed., March 28 6:32 7:02

Thurs., March 29 6:30 7:03

Fri., March 30 6:28 7:04

Moon and Planets

Read More

Jupiter and Venus
You can’t miss them. Jupiter and Venus, the two bright planets high in the western sky after sunset, have started to part company.
Read More

Moon
A gibbous moon appears near the bright planet Saturn on Saturday night. The two rise in the eastern sky after 9 p.m. The bright star Spica, in the zodiacal constellation Virgo, is nearby. The three celestial objects form a triangle. The moon is roughly 225,000 miles away, Saturn is 837 million miles away and Spica is over 250 light years away.
Read More

All Eyes on Mars
Astronomers are focusing much attention on the red planet Mars these days. Tomorrow Mars is in opposition or at its closest approach to the earth in two years. The planet is 62.6 million miles away.
Read More

Crescent Moon and Planets
The crescent moon appears in our evening sky this weekend, and in the nights beyond. Tonight the moon appears underneath the bright planet Venus, and it gets even better tomorrow night when the two are closer.
Read More

Moon and Planets
Tonight’s gibbous moon appears near the bright red planet Mars. The two are in the zodiacal constellation Leo, a constellation we usually associate with spring and early summer. Mars rises first before 9 p.m., followed by the moon; but the best view of them as a pair will be closer to 10 p.m. or later when they are higher in the east.
Read More

Pages