Tuesday, Nov. 3 is election day across the country, but early voting is already under way on Martha’s Vineyard.  Voters can cast ballots seven days a week in every Island town through Friday, Oct. 30. Mail-in drop boxes, open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, are also located at town halls. Locations and times for early voting in each town appear below.

In addition to the presidential race, there are contested races for U.S. Senate and U.S. House. Incumbent Sen. Edward J. Markey, a Democrat, is opposed by Republican Kevin J. O’Connor, and incumbent Rep. Bill Keating is facing Republican Helen Brady and Michael Manley, of the Coach Team America party.

Both of the Island’s state legislators are running unopposed. Sen. Julian Cyr, of Truro, and Rep. Dylan Fernandes, of Falmouth, both Democrats, are running for their third two-year terms.

Register of Probate Daphne Devries, of Edgartown, and Dukes County Treasurer Ann M. Metcalf, of Tisbury, are also running unopposed. Both are six-year terms.

Seven people are running for seven seats on the Dukes County Commission. Seeking re-election for a two-year term are: Leon A. Brathwaite, of West Tisbury, John F. Cahill, of Tisbury, Keith O. Chatinover, of Edgartown, Tristan Israel, of Tisbury, and Christine C. Todd, of Oak Bluffs. Donald Leopold, of Chilmark and Richard G. Wharton, of Oak Bluffs, are also seeking election.

Nine people are vying for seven seats on the Martha’s Vineyard Commission. They are: Clarence A. “Trip” Barnes, of Tisbury, Christina Brown, of Edgartown, Josh Goldstein, of Tisbury, Fred Hancock, of Oak Bluffs, Doug Sederholm, of West Tisbury, Linda Sibley, of West Tisbury, Jim Vercruysse, of Aquinnah, Jeff Agnoli, of Edgartown, and Ben Robinson, of Tisbury.

There are three questions on the ballot, two statewide questions and one that applies only to Dukes County. Question 1 seeks to allow independent repair facilities and motor vehicles owners expanded access to to mechanical data relating to vehicle repairs, Question 2 would implement ranked-choice voting and Question 3 would make the Dukes County treasurer an appointed office. It is now elected.

Sample ballots are available for viewing at town halls or online here.


Early Voting Locations


Aquinnah Town Hall, 65 State Road
Monday-Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Saturday, Sunday: 10 a.m. to noon.


Chilmark Town Hall, 401 Middle Road
Monday-Friday: 8 a.m. to noon; additional hours Thursdays from 4 to 7 p.m.
Saturday, Sunday: 10 a.m. to noon.


Edgartown Town Hall, 70 Main Street
Monday-Friday: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Saturday: 2 to 4 p.m.
Sunday: 10 a.m. to noon.

Oak Bluffs

Oak Bluffs Library, 56R School Street
Monday-Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Saturday, Sunday: 8:30 to 10:30 a.m.

Vineyard Haven

Emergency Services Facility, 215 Spring Street
Monday-Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday, Sunday: 10 a.m. to noon.

West Tisbury

West Tisbury public safety building, 454 State Road
Monday-Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Saturday,Sunday: 9 to 11 a.m.