The Dukes County commissioners Wednesday night reappointed Marc Hanover of Oak Bluffs to his second three-year term as Martha’s Vineyard governor at the Steamship Authority.

Three candidates came in front of the commission to throw their hats in the ring for the position. The commissioners heard from Rodney Eldon, a former executive at Hendy International Corporation with extensive maritime experience; Rick McElhinney, a former SSA employee with 22 years of experience at the boat line; and the current governor, Mr. Hanover.

Mr. Hanover took the opportunity Wednesday to update the commission and the public on progress made during his first three-year term as governor. There have been no rate increases in the past two years, Mr. Hanover said. The five-member board of governors hired a general manager and increased the number of vehicle spaces available on popular boat trips. Mr. Hanover said future plans include implementing recycling programs at both Vineyard boat line terminals and decreasing boat speed in an attempt to cut fuel costs.

“I’m very proud of what’s been accomplished in the last three years,” Mr. Hanover told the board.

“Marc has been one of our best appointments,” commissioner John Alley of West Tisbury said following the vote. “He brought stability to that organization,” said commissioner Leonard Jason Jr. of Chilmark.

“I certainly appreciate the commissioners’ confidence in me,” said Mr. Hanover, reached by telephone following the meeting. “I look forward to making things even better and more accessible for the Island community.”

Following the vote, the commission made a slew of other appointments.

John S. Alley and John Coskie were reappointed to the Martha’s Vineyard Airport Commission; T.J. Hegarty was reappointed as delegate to the Pilgrim Resource Conservation and Development Council; Peter Hefler was appointed as the representative to the Cape Light Compact; Chuck Cotnoir was reappointed as the assistant representative to the Steamship Authority for emergency affairs and the representative to the Medical Reserve Corps; and Noreen Mavro Flanders and Dr. James Weiss were reappointed as members and Michael Dutton was appointed as the alternate to the Cape Cod Municipal Health Council.

The commissioners will next meet on Feb. 13 at 5 p.m.