A familiar slate of Oak Bluffs candidates will look to play a game of political musical chairs this election season as several veteran officials will seek new or additional seats that are open on the various town boards and committees.

Incumbents Duncan Ross and Ronald DiOrio face challenger Hans vonSteiger in a three-way race for two available selectmen’s seats.

Mr. Ross, who is completing his first term, is a former teacher and longtime town moderator. Mr. DiOrio, who also is finishing his first term, is co-owner of Craftworks on Circuit avenue. Mr. vonSteiger is a member of the town wastewater commission.

In other races, a total of four candidates — two incumbents and two challengers — will battle for two open seats on the finance and advisory committee. Incumbents Joseph Alosso, the town wastewater superintendent, and Michael Perry face off against challengers Mac Starks and Mr. vonSteiger.

Mr. Starks is the town custodian who has run twice previously for a seat on the board of selectmen.

Three candidates — all challengers — will battle for one open seat on the park and recreation commission: Gail Barmakian, a current member of the planning and zoning committee; Bill McGrath, a current member of the finance and advisory committee, and Nancy Phillips, a current member of the community development committee. The incumbent who holds the seat, Michael Marchand, opted not to run for reelection.

In the final race of the election, incumbent wastewater commissioner Richard D. Combra faces Ms. Barmakian.

David Richardson is running unopposed for moderator; Deborah deBettencourt Ratcliff is running unopposed for town clerk; Edward Charter is running unopposed for cemetery commissioner; longtime incumbent Priscilla Sylvia is running unopposed for school committee; and Raymond J. Moreis is running unopposed for water district commissioner.

As of this week, nobody had declared intentions to run for an open five-year seat on the planning board.