Tuesday was the last day to file nomination papers with local towns for candidates seeking a seat on the Dukes County Commission.

Three of the seven county commissioners are now serving out the last months of their four-year terms: John Alley of West Tisbury, Leonard Jason Jr. of Chilmark and Roger Wey of Oak Bluffs.

Mr. Alley and Mr. Jason are seeking reelection. Mr. Wey will not run.

Linda Sibley of West Tisbury has also decided to run. Mrs. Sibley, who was a county commissioner for six years in the 1990s, is a member of the Martha’s Vineyard Commission and the Dukes County charter study commission.

Although there will be three positions open, there will be a contested race between Mr. Alley and Ms. Sibley because both are from West Tisbury. Only two representatives from one town can sit on the county commission at one time. Leslie Leland, a West Tisbury resident, is the current chairman of the commission. Unless a write-in candidate enters the race, the commission could be one member short.

Tuesday was also the deadline for candidates to submit papers to enter the race for state representative. Cape and Islands state Rep. Eric T. Turkington announced in March he would not seek reelection. A number of Vineyard residents have entered the race. They are Mr. Wey, Jacob Ferreira of Vineyard Haven, Daniel Larkosh of West Tisbury and Timothy Lasker of Chilmark.