Edgartown voters returned incumbent William Erickson to a three-year term on the town water commission Thursday in an annual town election that was remarkable for its dearth of contested races.

A total of 449 voters turned out, 14.5 per cent of the 3,094 registered.

In an under-the-radar contest for the finance committee write-in Barbara Shriber beat out Malcolm Reed, an incumbent who was running as a write-in having missed the deadline for filing. Ms. Shriber won 82 votes to Mr. Reed’s 37.

The only other contest on the ballot was a write-in race for a five-year seat on the planning board. Robert Sparks was elected with 129 votes.

In the water commission race Mr. Erickson received 268 votes, while challenger Peter M. McGuire trailed with 98 votes.

Voters also expressed their dissatisfaction with the Martha’s Vineyard Commission in a ballot question that singled out the $274,000 town assessment to the commission. The question was purely symbolic because commission assessments are mandatory. Voters said no to the assessment, 222-212.

Six other ballot overrides were approved: $236,000 to pay for the town dredge program, $108,000 to reimburse the regional refuse district for capping the old town landfill, $130,000 to repave town streets, $50,000 to repair town sidewalks, $11,000 for the town’s share of the regional rodent control program, and $19,000 for the town’s share of the health care access program.

Elected without contest were: Laurence A. Mercier, assessor (337); Kevin L.K. Searle, board of health (365); Arthur Smadbeck, selectman (355); Thomas A. Durawa, Morton Fearey, financial advisory committee (358, 296); David J. Blackburn, Herbert L. Foster, library trustee (344, 329); Glen Searle, park commission (386); Leslie Baynes, school committee (346), Wanda Williams, town clerk (403); Melissa Kuehne, tax collector (386); Timothy K. Connelly, wastewater treatment commission (327).

Town clerk Wanda Williams was the top vote-getter.