Oscar Nominated Shorts

Tonight, Feb. 26, the Martha’s Vineyard Film Society presents a special screening of all 10 2010 Oscar nominated short films at the Katharine Cornell Theatre in Vineyard Haven. Split into two screenings, the night begins at 5:30 p.m. with the top five animated shorts, followed by the top five live-action shorts at 7:30 p.m.

The nominees in the animated category include films by Fabrice O. Joubert, Nicky Phelan and Darragh O’Connell, Javier Recio Gracia, Nicolas Schmerkin and Nick Park, creator of Wallace and Gromit. Vying for best live action short are Juanita Wilson and James Flynn, Patrik Eklund and Mathias Fjellström, Gregg Helvey, Luke Doolan and Drew Bailey, and Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson.

Each program runs from 80 to 90 minutes and requires a separate admission fee of $8, or $5 for film society members. For details, visit mvfilmsociety.com or call 774-392-2972.