Jeff Kristal won a second term as Tisbury selectman on Tuesday, in a second close race with the man he replaced three years ago, Tom Pachico.

At the end of a campaign marked by personal attacks by the candidates on one another, Mr. Kristal prevailed by a mere 12 votes, 461 to 449. Three years ago, when Mr. Pachico was a three-term incumbent, the margin was 14.

Theirs was the only contested race of the day. All the other candidates whose names appeared on the ballot paper were elected, and two write-in candidates were elected to jobs for which there were no nominees.

Voters also pronounced judgment on two Proposition 2 1/2 override questions, one seeking to raise an extra $85,000 toward the cost of anticipated collective bargaining deals, and the other looking to raise $100,000 to begin making provision for currently-unfunded, post-employment benefits — mostly for health care, for town workers.

They decisively rejected both spending measures. The first failed 492 to 397; the second went down 532 to 350.

Yesterday, Mr. Pachico accepted his defeat with relative grace.

“I want to thank everyone who helped me and turned out to vote for me, and I congratulate Jeff Kristal and his supporters on their win. I’m just sorry I can’t now represent the older people and the working people of the town,” he said.

Mr. Pachico was not sure if this second loss would be the end of his attempts to get back on the board. “I don’t know. We’ll see if I like what’s going on or not,” he said.

Mr. Kristal, however, was still stung by the personal nature of the campaign.

“He tried to portray himself as the poor working guy that has to hunt and fish to put food on his table, versus the silver spoon washashore,” Mr. Kristal said of his opponent. “It was kind of a slap in the face to me and my family to be portrayed that way.”

Like many others on the Island, he said, he worked hard to make ends meet.

“I’m no different from those people struggling. I do it in my own life, I do it in my own business, and I just thought it was so disingenuous for him to come across that way.

“And I think the rhetoric didn’t pay off for him. I think people really saw through it. It’s a big victory. Twelve votes doesn’t even come close to saying how big it was, because this was on his turf, these were his local people that came out and got out the vote. And it was my friends and my smart supporters who got out. I’m really energized and impressed.

“We battled it out. We really did,” he said.

Mr. Kristal also commented on the two failed ballot questions.

Along with the other two current selectmen, he had opposed spending $100,000 toward making provision for the other post employment benefits (OPEB) liabilities. “So, the OPEB result means nothing to me,” he said.

As for the other, $85,000 question, which would have made provision to meet future wage and contract settlements, he signaled some tough negotiations ahead.

“I don’t want to get into union negotiations, because we can’t discuss collective bargaining like this.

“But I think it sends a clear message . . . from the townspeople who voted on it, which says now is not the correct time to be doing this. So I think we’ve got to carry that message back to our negotiation,” Mr. Kristal said.

Elected without contest on Tuesday were: Deborah Medders, town moderator, 768; Marion A. Mudge, town clerk, 800; Roy Cutrer Jr., assessor, 718; Bruce A. Stelle, board of health, 726; Janet M. Packer, school committee, 738; David J. Schwab, water commission, 767; Sandra A. Johnson-Pratt, library trustee, 689, Marilyn P. Wortman, library trustee, 691, and Arthur D. Smith, library trustee, 622; Leo P. DeSorcy, public works commissioner, 685, David J. Ferraguzzi, public works commissioner, 647; Thomas M. Robinson, land bank commission, 727.

There were four positions up for election on the finance and advisory committee, and only three candidates’ names on the ballot paper. They are Larry J. Gomez, who received 630 votes, Jynell A. Kristal, 588, and Mary Ellen Larsen 715. Denys Wortman received 11 write-in votes, so the fourth slot will be his if he accepts it.

A write-in, George Balco, with 27 votes, also won a one-year term as library trustee.

L. Anthony Peak won another five years on the planning board, with 699 votes; Jeffrey Edward Thompson won a one-year term, with 661.