Martha’s Vineyard voters will weigh in on a contested congressional seat and see several new faces vying for spots on the Martha’s Vineyard Commission when they go to the polls this fall.

In the new 9th congressional district, formed by redistricting last fall, Democrat Cong. William Keating will face a primary challenger in Bristol county district attorney C. Samuel Sutter, who lives in Fall River.

The new 9th congressional district includes the Cape and Islands, New Bedford and the south coast, and coastal sections of Plymouth County. Mr. Keating moved his residency from Quincy to Bourne, where he has long had a home, to run in the new district.

The Island has been represented by Mr. Keating as part of the 10th congressional district, which will be dissolved.

In a summer kick-off to election season, Mr. Sutter and Mr. Keating will meet to discuss issues at the monthly meeting of the Martha’s Vineyard Democrats this Saturday from 9 to 10:30 a.m. at Howes House in West Tisbury.

On the Republican side of the congressional race, Adam G. Chaprales of Barnstable and Christopher Sheldon of Plymouth will face off in the September primary. According to their campaign websites, Mr. Chaprales is a partner at an investments and insurance company and a former Sandwich selectman, while Mr. Sheldon is a consultant and a member of the Plymouth County charter study commission.

State Sen. Dan Wolf, state Rep. Timothy Madden, Dukes County clerk of courts Joseph E. Sollitto Jr., and register of deeds Dianne E. Powers are all running unopposed in the election.

John S. Alley, Thomas J. Hallahan and Leon Arthur Brathwaite are running for the seven-member Dukes County commission.

The deadline to register to vote in the Thursday, Sept. 6 primary election is Friday, August 17.

In the race for the Martha’s Vineyard Commission seven new faces filed town papers to run for the regional body, according to town clerks.

Papers for the November election do not have to be filed with the state until August 28, but were due to towns by the end of July.

The MVC is made up of 21 people; six are appointed annually by boards of selectmen from the six towns, one is appointed by the county commission and five are appointed by the governor. The remaining nine are elected in an Islandwide vote every two years. Each town must have at least one, but no more than two elected representatives on the commission.

In Oak Bluffs, elected member John Breckenridge, who has served since 2004, is running for re-election. Fred Hancock, an appointed member of the commission, and newcomer Joseph Jims also filed papers to be on the ballot.

Linda Sibley, the longest-serving commissioner at 20 years, will run from West Tisbury, as will incumbent Erik Hammarlund (elected in 2011) and challenger Susanna Sturgis.

Camille Rose, currently an appointed member of the commission, was the only person to file MVC election papers in Aquinnah.

In Edgartown, incumbent Christina Brown, who has held her seat since 1997, is running for re-election, with newcomers James T. Miller and Madeline Fisher also vying for a seat.

In Tisbury, only new faces will be on the ballot: Clarence A. (Trip) Barnes 3rd, Joshua Seth Goldstein and David F. Willoughby.

And in Chilmark, current commissioner Douglas Sederholm is the only person to put his name forward for the ballot.

Current elected commissioners Peter Cabana of Vineyard Haven, Chris Murphy of Chilmark, Katherine Newman of Aquinnah and Holly Stephenson of Tisbury did not file papers to run in the fall election.