The third year is the charm for the Martha’s Vineyard Sharks, as the team enters postseason play for the first time in its three-year existence. Play began Sunday night with a 4-3 defeat of the Old Orchard Beach Raging Tide and continues tonight with an away game against the Raging Tide. The first round of the playoffs takes a best-of-three series format.

The Sharks finished the regular season ranked first in the nine-team league after a season-long back-and-forth battle against last year’s champs, the Nashua Silver Knights. The Sharks posted a 35-18 regular season record, one game ahead of the Silver Knights.

During Monday evening’s home game, the Sharks took a 1-0 lead in the fourth inning as Erik Brenk scored on a single by Chris Miller. Donnie Cimino scored a second run in the fourth inning, and Miller launched a two-run home run just after to put the team ahead 4-0. The Raging Tide pulled within one run, but closer Matt Calamoneri entered in the eighth inning to stave off the rally. Starter Bob Carbaugh earned the win.

Monday brought more good news for the team, as three players were named top in the Futures Collegiate Baseball League. Shortstop Dylan Tice earned league MVP honors, as well as defensive player of the year. Carbaugh, who set the league record for wins this season (eight victories) was named pitcher of the year, and outfield Ryan Siegel took home the FCBL batting title. Siegel finished the regular season with a .367 batting average. Head coach Mike Miller was named coach of the year for the league.