Nominations for the Spirit of the Vineyard Award, sponsored by Hospice of Martha’s Vineyard, are open. The annual award honors those who have served one or more nonprofit organizations on the Island, and whose work has made a difference to individuals and to the community. The criteria for selection includes selflessness, range and depth of service performed, the length of volunteer service, the effect on the individuals served and for the Island community as a whole.

Past recipients include Jack Ware, Estelle Surprenant, Ron Rappaport, the Possible Dreams Auction Committees Past and Present, Nellie Mendenhall, Kerry Alley, Dorothy Bangs, Judy Williamson, the MV Harley Riders, Polly Brown, Melinda Loberg, Denys and Marilyn Wortman, Emily Bramhall and Greg Orcutt.

Nominations can be emailed to or sent to Spirit of the Vineyard, P.O. Box 1356, Vineyard Haven, MA 02568. The deadline for nominations is Sept. 24.