Martha’s Vineyard Association of EMTs held its annual meeting June 26, and honored EMT of the year Kristina West. Ms. West was a principal EMT in a recent cardiac arrest save in Chilmark. She was voted MVAEMT EMT of the Year by her colleagues. The MVAEMTs are calling this a double win — they get to celebrate a colleague and realize all their training and education pays off.

MVAEMT also honored two recently retired Dukes County Emergency Dispatchers: Linda Cook and Kathryn Mercier. Both Ms. Cook and Ms. Mercier were recognized for their roles in the communication center.

MVAEMT held executive board elections as well. Past president Jeff Pratt decided after ten years of service not run again. Mr. Pratt was thanked for his years of dedication and service and the new officers are: president: Jim Osmundsen; vice-president: Ben Retmier; treasure: Marsha Eldgridge, and secretary Alan Ganapol. The officers will serve two-year terms.

Classes for initial EMT training start in January 2015. Contact or for more information.