The Martha’s Vineyard Sharks fell short in their final campaign of the season, dropping the Futures Collegiate Baseball League championship series to the Worcester Bravehearts.

The series was a battle of the top seeds in each division of the FCBL. The Sharks posted a late season surge to overtake the Brockton Rox in the East Division, while the Bravehearts enjoyed a successful rookie year to place first in the West.

Though the Sharks had defeated the Bravehearts each of the six times the teams met in the regular season, the team was stymied by Worcester pitching in the postseason. Last Tuesday, in the Sharks’ final home game, Worcester picked up a 5-2 win. And on Thursday, in what would be the last game of the best of three series, the Bravehearts squeaked out a close 1-0 victory.

But the Sharks’ fourth season was still a success. The team went 30-23 in the regular season, and swept the Torrington Titans in the first round of the playoffs. Players made frequent appearances on FCBL awards lists. In July, outfielder Ryan Kelly and pitcher Matt Quintana were players of the month. Most recently, in the final week of the regular season infielder Luke Bonfield and pitcher Nick Fuller took top honors.

Seven Sharks were named to the FCBL All-Star Team: Matt Binder (Millersville), Max Bruckner (Iona), Brian Campbell (Stonehill), Mike Fitzgerald (Northeastern), John Mayer (Bucknell), Matt Quintana (Siena), and Will Toffey (Vanderbilt).