The Martha’s Vineyard Museum honors five community leaders with its Martha’s Vineyard Medal award at the museum’s 97th annual meeting this year. The ceremony takes place on Monday, July 29 beginning at 5 p.m.

This year’s recipients are Mary Beth Grady and Allison Burger, co-owners of Chilmark Chocolates; Elaine Cawley-Weintraub, co-founder of the Martha’s Vineyard African American Heritage Trail and a former history teacher at the Martha’s Vineyard Regional High School, and Allen and Lynne Whiting — he an artist and 12th-generation Islander, she a teacher, board member and volunteer for a wide range of Island non-profits, including the West Tisbury Library, Island Grown Initiative and Hospice of MV.

As an outgrowth of its role as curator for images, stories, objects and voices on the Vineyard, the museum introduced the Martha’s Vineyard Medal in 2009 and awards it annually to leaders in the community in recognition of their commitment to preserving the history, arts and culture of the Island.