Vineyard Medals Honor Maritime Traditions, Leadership

The Martha’s Vineyard Museum recently honored Len Butler, Robert S. Douglas and Catherine (Kay) Mayhew for their service to the Island.

Read More
Museum Honors Island Leaders
The Martha’s Vineyard Museum honored writer Cynthia Riggs, Beagary Charitable Trust head Pat Morgan and the late West Tisbury town moderator Pat Gregory this week with the 2015 Martha’s Vineyard medal.
Read More
Martha's Vineyard Medal Ceremony and Museum Annual Meeting

The Martha’s Vineyard Museum will honor three distinguished Vineyarders on August 10 at this year’s Martha’s Vineyard Medal award ceremony.

Read More
Martha's Vineyard Museum Honors Island's Stewards

Renee Balter, Richard Paradise and the late Dorothy Bangs were honored Monday night for their commitment to preserving the art, history and culture of the Island.

Read More
Three Islanders to Be Honored With Martha's Vineyard Medal

Renee Balter, Dorothy Bangs and Richard Paradise will be honored next week with the Martha’s Vineyard Museum’s annual Martha’s Vineyard Medal.

Read More
Museum Honors Vineyarders Who Make Island a Better Place

In 1981, attorney and civil rights activist Vernon Jordan gave the Commencement Address at the University of Pennsylvania. His daughter Vicky was in the graduating class and Mr. Jordan was awarded an honorary degree by Penn president Sheldon Hackney.

Read More
Tireless Dedication
The following letter was sent to the board of directors at the Martha’s Vineyard Museum.

Congratulations on your selection of Hugh Knipmeyer as a recipient of the Martha’s Vineyard Medal. No one deserves the honor more than Hugh.

Read More
Four Islanders Receive Museum Medals

Martha’s Vineyard Museum board members introduced a new award Monday, the Martha’s Vineyard Medal, and honored four individuals who demonstrated a commitment to preserving the history, arts and culture of the Island through their roles as community leaders. The awards ceremony was part of the museum’s annual meeting.

Read More
Medals Will Honor Three Outstanding Vineyarders

David McCullough, Arthur R. Railton and Tobias Jonathan Vanderhoop will be awarded the Martha’s Vineyard Medal in a ceremony at the annual meeting of the Martha’s Vineyard Museum on Monday, August 9, at 5 p.m. at the Federated Church on South Summer street in Edgartown.

The medal is awarded annually to leaders in the community in recognition of their outstanding commitment to preserving the history, arts and culture of Martha’s Vineyard.

Read More
Awarding Those Who Made Mark on Martha’s Vineyard

It was an evening of good news and appreciation at the Martha’s Vineyard Museum annual meeting at the Federated Church in Edgartown on Monday.

The Martha’s Vineyard Medal, an annual award, this year went to Marian Halperin, Francine Kelly and S. Bailey Norton Jr.

Read More