Museum Honors Vineyarders Who Make Island a Better Place
Ivy Ashe

In 1981, attorney and civil rights activist Vernon Jordan gave the Commencement Address at the University of Pennsylvania. His daughter Vicky was in the graduating class and Mr. Jordan was awarded an honorary degree by Penn president Sheldon Hackney.

Read More

Tireless Dedication
The following letter was sent to the board of directors at the Martha’s Vineyard Museum.

Congratulations on your selection of Hugh Knipmeyer as a recipient of the Martha’s Vineyard Medal. No one deserves the honor more than Hugh.

Read More

Four Islanders Receive Museum Medals
Megan Dooley

Martha’s Vineyard Museum board members introduced a new award Monday, the Martha’s Vineyard Medal, and honored four individuals who demonstrated a commitment to preserving the history, arts and culture of the Island through their roles as community leaders. The awards ceremony was part of the museum’s annual meeting.

Read More

Medals Will Honor Three Outstanding Vineyarders

David McCullough, Arthur R. Railton and Tobias Jonathan Vanderhoop will be awarded the Martha’s Vineyard Medal in a ceremony at the annual meeting of the Martha’s Vineyard Museum on Monday, August 9, at 5 p.m. at the Federated Church on South Summer street in Edgartown.

The medal is awarded annually to leaders in the community in recognition of their outstanding commitment to preserving the history, arts and culture of Martha’s Vineyard.

Read More

Awarding Those Who Made Mark on Martha’s Vineyard
Nina Tarnawsky

It was an evening of good news and appreciation at the Martha’s Vineyard Museum annual meeting at the Federated Church in Edgartown on Monday.

The Martha’s Vineyard Medal, an annual award, this year went to Marian Halperin, Francine Kelly and S. Bailey Norton Jr.

Read More