The Martha’s Vineyard Commission nominated Chilmark representative Joan Malkin to be its new chairman at its meeting Thursday, with Aquinnah member Jim Vercruysse as vice chairman.

The nominations were approved unanimously by the commission on Thursday.

Ms. Malkin and Mr. Vercruysse will take over commission leadership from current chairman Doug Sederholm and vice chairman Joan Malkin. Commission leaders serve one year terms.

The commission is a unique, 16-member regional planning body that has broad jurisdiction to review developments of regional impact on the Island. The chairman is responsible for running meetings, as well as signing official decisions by the commission.

West Tisbury commissioner Ernie Thomas was nominated and unanimously selected to his position as commission treasurer.

In other business, commissioner Ben Robinson said that he would air the commission’s new energy policy before all the Island towns as well as the Martha’s Vineyard Builders’ Assocation in the coming weeks. The new policy focuses more heavily on promoting all-electric systems and energy offsets on properties.

A planned vote on a major expansion to the Hob Knob inn in Edgartown was postponed at the request of the applicant until at least after the New Year, shortening the meeting Thursday.

This story has been corrected to reflect Joan Malkin as the previous MVC vice chairman, not Josh Goldstein.