The Martha’s Vineyard Poet Laureate Society is looking for the Island’s next poet laureate. The position is a two-year term, and aimed at fostering connections through poetry.

The outgoing poet laureate is Jill Jupen, and the group is currently accepting applications for the 2024-2026 term. Applications will be accepted through April 26, with the final selection announced on May 24.

The unofficial first poet laureate of the Island was Dionis Coffin Riggs, who began hosting a poetry group in 1960 at her family home in West Tisbury. Arnie Reisman and Lee McCormack also served in the position.

Visit for more information.