Martha’s Vineyard followed the mood of the state and the country Tuesday, when high numbers of voters turned out to the polls to help re-elect President Barack Obama to a second term and cast ballots for Democratic Senate candidate Elizabeth Warren and incumbent Cong. William Keating.

As around the state and the country, voters in Dukes County turned out in large numbers. County-wide, turnout was about 80.5 per cent, with 11,003 voters casting ballots as of Wednesday morning (overseas ballots could still come in over the next 10 days). Turnout was highest in West Tisbury, with 83 per cent, and Tisbury, with 82 per cent of registered voters casting ballots.

President Obama garnered about 72 per cent of the vote, with 7,955 votes, compared to Mr. Romney’s 2,789 votes, which represented 25 per cent..

The Island joined the rest of the state in backing Elizabeth Warren, a Democrat, for Senate, with Ms. Warren getting 67 per cent of the vote. Incumbent Sen. Scott Brown, who was unseated by Ms. Warren after one term, got 32 per cent of the Vineyard vote.

In the ninth district congressional race, incumbent Cong. William Keating was reelected with 70 per cent of the vote. Challenger Christopher Sheldon got 20 per cent of ballots, and independent candidate Daniel Botelho got four per cent.

In the race for first district governor’s council, Oliver P. Cipollini, Jr., a Democrat, defeated his brother, Charles Cipollini. The Island voted with the rest of the district, opting for Oliver Cipollini over his brother by 57 per cent to 25 per cent.

Elected without contest were state Sen. Daniel A. Wolf, state Rep. Timothy R. Madden, clerk of courts Joseph E. Sollitto Jr., and register of deeds Dianne E. Powers.

The Vineyard said yes to all five ballot questions, going along with the state in approving the Right to Repair bill by 78 per cent to nine per cent, and approving the medicinal marijuana question 71 per cent to 25 per cent. The physician-assisted suicide ballot question was approved on the Island by 64 per cent to 32 per cent, though voters statewide ended up defeating the question.

Nonbinding ballot questions urging the Island’s state senator and state representative to ask Congress to affirm that corporations are not people and place limits on political contributions were approved with about 70 per cent of the vote.

More locally, the Martha’s Vineyard Commission will have three new elected members, though the results from Tuesday’s vote show a heavy preference for commission incumbents.

Voters elected nine commissioners in Tuesday’s election; current commissioners John Breckenridge, Christina Brown, Doug Sederholm, Linda Sibley, Camille Rose and Erik Hammarlund were elected. Ms. Rose was an appointed member of the commission, while the others were candidates for re-election.

They will be joined by newcomers Clarence (Trip) Barnes 3rd, Madeline Fisher and Joshua Seth Goldstein.

Ms. Brown was the top vote-getter on the Island, with 5,075 votes, followed by Mr. Barnes with 4,841 and Ms. Sibley with 4,577.

Fourteen candidates were running for nine at-large seats; under the MVC enabling legislation at least one and not more than two commissioners  are elected from each of the six Island towns.

In the race for Dukes County Commissioners, five people were running for seven seats. John S. Alley, Thomas J. Hallahan, Tristan R. Israel, Melinda F. Loberg and Leon Arthur Brathwaite are all assured seats on the commission, and write-in candidate Christine Todd received more than 130 votes, more than the 25 needed to be considered for the seat.

Mr. Alley was the top vote getter with 6,541, followed by Mr. Israel with 5,797 votes.