Never Too Young to Canter, Spring Horse Show Delights All Ages
Glynis Hart

Aubrey Holmes was named champion and Abigail Gilly reserve champion in the walk/trot (youngsters) category of the Martha’s Vineyard Horse Council’s spring show.

Read More

Spring Fling Horse Show

The Spring Fling Horse Show is Saturday, May 20 beginning at 9 a.m. at the Agricultural Hall fairgrounds.

Read More

Horse Council Open House

The Martha’s Vineyard Horse Council will host an open house on Sunday, May 7 at Woodbe Farm.

Read More

Martha's Vineyard Horse Council Spring Fling

Thirty-three riders (and 25 horses) came out June 5 for the Horse Council’s Spring Fling horse show.

Read More

Horse Council's Spring Open House

All manner of equines, from miniature ponies to huge draft horses, will be on display at the MV Horse Council’s spring open house on Saturday, May 16.

Read More

Jumping for Joy at the Horse Council Open House
Alison L. Mead

Sophie Shalhoub sat atop her horse Gigja under drizzling rain at Woodbe Farm in West Tisbury on Sunday. Ms. Shalhoub, who rode Gigja to the farm from Chilmark, was showing the pony as part of the Martha’s Vineyard Horse Council’s second annual open house.

Read More

Horse Council Gallops to West Tisbury for Open House

The Martha’s Vineyard Horse Council is hosting its spring open house from noon to 3 p.m. on Sunday, April 27.

Read More

Trio Wins Horse Council Pace Ride

The team of Margaret Oliveira, Stephanie Dreyer, and Chris Arenburg won the Martha’s Vineyard Horse Council’s annual pace ride on Sunday, Oct. 14. The winning time was one hour, 47 minutes, and 56 seconds, just one minute and 14 seconds off the pace time of 1:49.10. Elaine Shabazian and Susanna Sturgis took a close second in 1:47.18. The riders’ goal was to match the time set by organizers Cindy Bonnell and Mary Ann Brock, who rode the seven-mile course in advance, maintaining an average speed suitable for a pleasure ride.

Read More

Horse Council Recognizes Riders

The Martha’s Vineyard Horse Council recognized riders at its annual awards banquet, held Sunday, Dec. 5 at the Harbor View Hotel in Edgartown.

In the hunter division, the Walk/Trot champion was Isabelle Littlefield, and reserve champion Isabella Thorpe.

The Walk/Trot/Canter champion was Ciara Seccombe.

The hunter champion in Short Stirrup Equitation was Mia Arenburg, and the reserve champion was Maddy Alley.

Read More