The Vineyard Gazette received 32 journalism awards this weekend in the New England Better Newspapers Competition, garnering top honors in reporting, photography, design, editorial writing, digital strategy, event promotion and revenue generation.

The newspaper’s 13 first place prizes included recognition for its staff coverage of a series of ferry breakdowns that plagued the Steamship Authority last spring, for a feature story by reporter Noah Asimow about boatbuilder Ted Box and for photographs by Tim Johnson, Albert Fischer and Jeanna Shepard, who also won a second-place award. Cartoonist Paul Karasik earned first place honors for a graphic report about Alley’s store.

Jeanna Sheparad's photo of an oystercatcher won first place for pictorial photo. — Jeanna Shepard

Mr. Asimow and reporter Landry Harlan shared a first-place prize for coverage of soccer fans watching a World Cup match between Serbia and Brazil at Coop deVille. Publisher Jane Seagrave won first place for editorial writing. And the Gazette’s Living section got top  honors for the fourth straight year.

On the business side, the Gazette won first prize for the success of the Island Guide, an annual visitor magazine that debuted in 2018, and for its promotion of Tuesdays in the Newsroom, the newspaper’s offseason speaker series. The Gazette also earned top honors for the design of its website and for overall excellence in digital strategy.

Tim Johnson's image of a surfer took first place for feature photo. — Tim Johnson

The awards were presented Friday and Saturday at the annual conference of the New England Newspaper and Press Association in Boston. The contest receives some 3,000 entries from newspapers of varying size around New England. The Gazette competes in a category for weekly newspapers.

Gazette reporters and photographers also recognized with second and third place honors were Heather Hamacek, John H. Kennedy, Susie Middleton, Julie Wells, Mark Lovewell, Peter Simon and Maria Thibodeau.

The Martha's Vineyard Times won 13 awards in the competition.