A historic home demolition project in Oak Bluffs remains undecided after the Martha’s Vineyard Commission agreed to reopen the written record on the plan.

The applicant for the project at 112 Dukes County avenue has revised and downsized the plans from an earlier version, commissioners learned at their meeting last Thursday night.

Homeowners and applicants Ryan and Abigail Dillon had originally proposed a 3,500-square-foot house with three one-bedroom apartments on each floor. The first floor would have commercial and residential space. The Dillons own a cabinetry and woodworking business, and intend to use the apartments for work force housing.

A 3,200-square-foot home at the site that dated to 1880 was previously torn down before the project was sent to the commission for review, partly due to communication errors at the town level.

A retroactive development of regional impact (DRI) review and public hearing were held in late August. The hearing included critical comments from abutters about the size of the project.

At the MVC meeting last week commissioner Fred Hancock said revisions are now in the offing.

“We have received a communication from applicant, they wish to revise the plan, with a much smaller building, two instead of three stories and much less massing,” Mr. Hancock said in part.

He suggested that the written record be reopened for a week to allow the revised plans to be submitted. Commissioners can decide after that whether a new public hearing is needed, Mr. Hancock said.

“If people have strong feelings about wanting us to reopen a public hearing, we can make that consideration, but . . . making it smaller does not seem like it would bring objections,” he said.

Commissioners agreed. The MVC is scheduled to take up the matter again at their meeting Thursday night.

In other business last week, commission chairman Joan Malkin appointed a committee to nominate a slate of officers for the coming year. The commission usually holds its officer elections in December. Nominating committee members are Kathy Newman, Jay Grossman, Linda Sibley, Fred Hancock, Ben Robinson, Ted Rosbeck and Christine Todd.