A public hearing opened this week before the Martha’s Vineyard Commission on an ambitious two-phase plan by the Martha’s Vineyard Museum to build a...
A special timeline of Cronig’s 100-year history, sponsored by Cronig’s Market, has been added to the Gazette’s Time Machine
When Sam Cronig and his three brothers opened their Vineyard Haven market in March 1917, the world was still at war in Europe.
A group of Aquinnah residents who want to bring the original lens from the Gay Head Light home to Aquinnah brought their case before the town...
A new exhibit at the Martha’s Vineyard Museum explores iconic Island structures, some no longer standing.
Jimmy Morgan’s hand-carved fishing scenes were originally made as weathervanes. They appear in an exhibit at the Martha’s Vineyard Museum that opens...
When Funi Burdick arrived earlier this year to take over as director of Martha’s Vineyard Preservation Trust, she was struck by what she calls an...
The old hangar at Katama airfield, dating to World War II and long in a state of disrepair, is expected to be replaced after years of delays....
Of the 2,500 masters who captained whaling ships during three centuries of whaling, at least 63 were men of color, five with Martha’s Vineyard ties,...

Pages