Alana and Cristiano Silva, of Edgartown, announce the birth of a daughter, Guivanna Trindade Silva, born on Oct. 20.
6:07 pm, October 22, 2020
Emily Quitsa Vanderhoop and Caleb D. Nicholson, of Oak Bluffs, announce the birth of a son, Caleb Daniel Nicholson Jr., born on Oct. 15.
6:06 pm, October 22, 2020
When the Martha’s Vineyard Commission was created by an act of the legislature 46 years ago, it was not so much a reaction to development as a concern for what many saw coming, as the Island began to change from a quiet backwater to a more upscale summer resort.
6:03 pm, October 22, 2020
A back-of-the-ballot sleeper question that will decide whether to change the Dukes county treasurer from an elected to appointed position has turned into a surprise political fight.
5:51 pm, October 22, 2020
Unpermitted trail clearing in the state forest has led to a citation from state environmental officials for violations of the Massachusetts Endangered Species Act.
5:49 pm, October 22, 2020
As early voting begins at a steady clip across the Island, the race for nine elected seats on the Martha’s Vineyard Commission tops local electoral matters on the ballot this year.
5:33 pm, October 22, 2020
After 30 years of corporate ownership, the Nantucket Inquirer and Mirror will be sold to an island-based ownership group.
1:04 pm, October 22, 2020
Last week, here in the hinterlands of West Tisbury, a serious frost — actually more like several hours of freezing temperatures — finished off my zinnias, tomatoes, peppers and beans.
12:08 pm, October 22, 2020
Driving While Black: Race, Space and Mobility in America, the newest documentary by filmmaker and seasonal Chilmark resident Ric Burns, is now airing on PBS stations and streaming on the broadcaster’s website.
12:02 pm, October 22, 2020